GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 14, 2017 3:30 P.M., GUC LOFT

The UNA Graduate Countil met at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 19, 2017, in the GUC 200. The following members were present: Dr. Lynn Aquadro, Dr. Jana Beaver, Dr. Wendy Darby, Ms. Jennifer Hogan, Dr. Vicki Pierce, Mr. Ron Patterson, Dr. Craig Robertson, Ms. Amanda Sherrod, and Mr. Joshua Wood. Dr. Amber Paulk, Chairperson, presided. Attending as guests: Dr. David Brommer, Dr. Beth Sewell, and Dr. Tammy Winner.

Approval of the minutes of the meeting of September 14, 2017

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Report from the Graduate Advisory Council

Working on when the next meeting will be. Dr. Robertson will come to the next meeting to discuss catalog language. Discussion of a continuous enrollment course for students who have not finished their thesis so they do not lose access to the library.

Consideration of Graduate Faculty Application for Dr. Laura Bozovic, Ms. Laura H. Young (does not hold terminal degree but holds special expertise), Dr. Daniel Stevens, Dr. Gretchen Windt, Dr. Thomas Lukowicz, and Dr. Helen Coronel

On motion by Dr. Robertson and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Elementary Education to create 5 new courses: EEX 606, EEX 621, EEX 622, EEX 623, and EEX 650

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Elementary Education to revise 8 course descriptions which include 6 updated course titles: EEX 605, EEX 620, EEX 630, EEX 635, EEX 640, EEX 642, EEX 653, and EEX 654

On motion by Dr. Robertson and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Elementary Education to remove one course fee: EEX 620

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Elementary Education to revise 6 course rotations: EEX 610, EEX 615, EEX 617, EEX 640, EEX 642, and EEX 654

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Elementary Education to made editorial changes on page 89

On motion by Dr. Robertson and second by Dr. Darby, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Counselor Education for Course Prerequisites/Corequisites for CHD 678, CHD 688, CHD 689 and CHD 690

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Counselor Education to clarify conditional admission and academic-performance policies

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Aquadro, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Secondary Education to implement new teaching field/major in the existing MAED: Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) Education (Traditional Class A and Alternative Class A)

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the College of Education and Human Sciences to align previously approved addition of new teaching field in Early Childhood Education (Traditional Class A and Alternative Class A) with the teaching field approval from the ALSDE and the additional CIP code designation from ACHE for a stand-alone MAED in Early Childhood Education

On motion by Dr. Aquadro and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Politics, Justice, and Law for proposed new courses CJ 513 and CJ 515

On motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Dabry, the motion was unanimously approved.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Geography for a proposed change in CIP code for the MS in Geospatial Science

On motion by Dr. Winner and second by Dr. Robertson, the motion was unanimously approved.

Dr.	Amber Paulk	, Chairperson